oyamel

I love me some Mexican food! Always have. Thankfully, wheat is not a key player in Mexican fare, but I have still found it difficult to find GOOD Mexican food that I can eat without fear. I have been wanting to go to Oyamel for quite some time, but it’s the kind of place where you need to make a reservation at least a week or two in advance. Not an “I feel like going out tonight” kind of place. So on one of those “I feel like going out tonight” nights when I couldn’t get a reservation, I decided to go ahead and make one for 3 weeks later, right before the start of my last semester of graduate school. A kind of last hurrah before burrowing in my books for 4 months.

Ever since being GF, I have avoided Restaurant Week. You know, that one week of the year where you can go to an overcrowded restaurant, have only 2 or 3 options to choose from, receive terrible service, be rushed out the door, all at an ever-so-slight discount? So you can image my disappointment when we arrived at Oyamel and realized they were running an extended restaurant week. But I take it all back! It did not diminish our experience whatsoever. We ordered off of the regular menu (although the RW menu had plenty of good choices), and our service did not suffer. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about what was gluten free, what was not, and what could be modified. He even cautioned me away from a fancy margarita that I tried to order because he wasn’t positive about one of the ingredients (not to fear, the mojito was to die for). He double checked everything with the bartender and chef just to be sure. Plus, he delivered all such news with humor and a smile. I didn’t get that “I’m the most annoying customer ever” feeling that I often get. I felt confident. It’s one of the few time I ate eagerly without worrying that I would be sick in a few hours.

Now for the main event – the food. We started with the made-fresh-tableside AMAZINGLY delicious guacamole. Guacamole is so simple it seems like it would be hard to mess up, but after eating this guac I’m convinced every other guac I’ve eaten in my life has been messed up. Our waiter brought me fresh homemade warm corn tortillas free of charge as a guacamole vehicle since I couldn’t eat the chips.

Next up were the refried black beans. I almost didn’t order them because they are “just” refried beans, but I’m glad I did. After getting over the obscene way they were presented (think long skinny log of dark brown wet stuff), I dug in, with more fresh homemade warm corn tortillas. As I got to the log’s center, melted cheese oozed in a most tantalizing way, adding another layer of deliciousness.

Next was a chicken taco with guacamole and grilled green onions. Simple yet divine with the perfect mixture and balance of flavors. And finally, a sweet corn tamale, that had the most appetizing smooth corny texture.

I also tasted Brian’s shrimp dish which was, you guessed it, wonderful. The waiter had even thought to confirm the GF status of Brian’s dishes with the chef just in case I wanted to taste any of them. Which of course I did.

Thank you, Oyamel, for a lovely dining experience! We will be back to celebrate my graduation in December, if not sooner.

This entry was posted in Restaurant reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

