year 1 without gluten

It’s been almost 3 months since I posted anything. Oops. But I am happy to report that I have been gluten free for exactly one year today. The last gluten I ate was the animal crackers the nurse gave me after my endoscopy. I had a choice between animal crackers and cheez-its. I thought the animal crackers would be gentler on my post-endoscopy belly, but now I wish I had opted for the cheez-its. Oh, well. Good thing I know how to make my own.

I am so thankful for not being sick anymore. While I still have pangs and cravings here and there for gluten – mostly the fresh chocolate croissants from the farmers market and pizza (oh, pizza) – I am happy to say no, thanks, in favor of health. I still have anxiety about eating out and traveling, but those are easing. I’m leaving tomorrow for a whirlwind 48 hour business trip to Orlando, Philadelphia, Princeton, and then back to DC. I admit I’m a little anxious about where I might find food that I can eat, and what I might order (besides wine) at the Italian restaurant where we are having dinner tomorrow night with our business colleagues, but it’s OK. I’ll figure it out. And if I end up eating just a boring green salad, I’ll live. I’ll sip my wine and enjoy the company, and then scarf down a Larabar in my hotel room before bed. I will manage, and most importantly, I will be healthy. I figure the more I do this, the easier it will become.

Here’s to the next year of my new gluten free life. Bring it.

I don’t exactly have a recipe to share today, just the idea of one. No measurements or cooking times. The other night, Brian and I were both exhausted and hungry. We didn’t have much in the refrigerator. We wanted something quick and easy and tasty. So I improvised. Usually this doesn’t work out too well, but this time it did. So here it is.

 chickpea quinoa salad

Cook a pot of quinoa in vegetable or chicken broth according to package instructions.

Pan fry a can of chickpeas (first rinse and drain) and some chopped onion. When it is almost finished cooking, sprinkle in some curry powder and lemon zest, stir, and turn off the heat.

Combine the quinoa and chickpea mixture, stir in some golden raisins, and top with toasted slivered almonds and grated parmesan cheese.

Voila! Dinner. Even Brian liked it, vegetarian though it was. 

This entry was posted in Main dishes, Recipes, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

