broiled figs with honey lemon goat cheese

It’s been a happy summer. A week at the beach with family, bike rides, warm weather, and evenings spent drinking white wine with friends. I took the final exam for my summer course last week, and the fall semester doesn’t begin for another month. Yippee.

The happiest moment of summer came on July 12th when our third nephew was born. The first child for my brother and his wife. I never knew I could fall so madly in love with someone I’ve never even met! I leave on Thursday to visit them in Chicago. I’m counting down the seconds.

Another happy summer occurrence was the appearance of figs in our local grocery store last week. I’ve never bought fresh figs before, but I had them in a salad at a restaurant and fell in love. I always thought they’d taste fig newton figgy, and I was never a big fan of fig newtons. But fresh figs are much milder. And with cheese, they are heaven. Someday when I have a yard, I will plant a fig tree.

Broiled figs with honey lemon goat cheese

8-10 figs
2-3 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2-3 ounces goat cheese

Preheat the broiler to high.

Cut the stems off of the figs and then cut each fig in half lengthwise. Place the figs cut side up on a cookie sheet.

Mix the honey and lemon juice in a small bowl and brush the mixture on the cut side of each fig.

You should still have a little bit of the honey mixture in the bottom of the bowl. Add the goat cheese to that and mix it together.

Put a dollop of the goat cheese mixture on each fig, and broil for 5 minutes or so, until the cheese browns.

Pop them in your mouth, one after another, until they are gone.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

