portobello pizzas

While I was wrapping up my day at work, I started thinking about what the fuck I should make for dinner, and then I remembered this website someone told me about once called What the Fuck Should I Make For Dinner? So naturally, I visited the site. I didn’t really expect to find something to make for dinner, but after clicking “I don’t fucking like that” a couple of times, the site told me to “feed my mouthface with some fucking portobello pizzas”. Frankly, I was a little intimidated by that, and so I complied.

I really really really REALLY love pizza. Always have. As a kid, every Friday night we had dinner out as a family at Pizza Hut, where my brother and I would have pepperoni pizza and an extra large Mountain Dew each (this makes me cringe now). As I got older, my taste in pizza matured, but the basic pie remained the same, and my love for the stuff only intensified. Pizza with sausage and ricotta cheese, pizza with pesto and pine nuts, pizza with olives and feta. So many wonderful flavor combinations. But the best part was always the bready crust. That warm, soft, yeasty, chewy, doughy, crust. So you can imagine that I was a little skeptical of the portobello thing. But I also love all things mushroom, so I thought it would be worth a try.

And it was a success. Even Brian thought they were delicious – he devoured three of them!

Portobello pizzas

4 portobello mushroom caps
2 tablespoons grapeseed or olive oil
1/2 cup tomato sauce
Handful baby spinach
Handful pepperoni
Other toppings
Mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 375. Wash mushroom caps and, optionally, scrape out the gills with a spoon.

Heat the oil in a skillet until hot, put mushroom caps in cap side down. Let them sit on medium heat for 5-10 minutes.

Put the mushroom caps on a baking sheet. Top with sauce, spinach, pepperoni, and cheese. Or whatever toppings you want – roasted garlic, black olives, red peppers, sun dried tomatoes. Use your imagination.

Slide them in the oven and bake for 5 minutes or so until cheese is melted and slightly browned.

Eat. Enjoy.

Next time I think I’ll skip the oil in the skillet step. I’m not convinced that step adds anything except oil. You could just broil or bake them, add the toppings, and continue broiling or baking until the cheese is melted. Broiling will go faster but I think either would work just fine.

These yum little pizzas are a healthy and simple alternative to the real deal.

And since they are kid-sized, I could imagine this being a fun family activity. Put out a bunch of different toppings and let the kiddos choose and build their own. Fun for all!

This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

