whole grain fig muffins

As I sit here typing, I am munching on the best muffin I have eaten. Ever. Gluten or not. I have been dreaming of these muffins all my life. They are simply delicious. They are moist with a slight crunch on top and full of flavor, but not too sweet. And right now they are warm out of the oven.

This recipe comes from Shauna Ahern, the Gluten Free Girl. I have recently discovered and am in love with GFG’s blog. Her enthusiasm about food and life is contagious, and she works hard creating and testing GF recipes for those of us who don’t have the energy. One consequence of using her recipes is that you must have a scale. I kept resisting, but her recipes looked so good I had to try them. And to try them I had to have a scale. Once you get a scale, you will never go back! I am a convert. This is really the best way to bake. For one, it is easier and cleaner – no measuring cups, just dump/drop/squeeze/slop ingredients into a bowl until you have enough. And the preciseness of the measurements means there is little room for error, and if you are like me and not very good in the kitchen, you are much more likely to end up with something delicious. And most importantly, you can substitute any flours you want/have on hand without sacrificing the quality of the recipe! Substitution by volume just does not work given the variability in weight of different flours. GFG provides a more detailed and persuasive argument for baking by weight here.

And now if you’re still reading this instead of just switching to GFG’s blog (which I wouldn’t blame you for), here is the backbone of the recipe.

The flour mix

You will see from Shauna’s guidelines that you can make an infinite number of different flour mixes. Here is the one that I used.

100 grams each of brown rice, millet, teff, almond, and corn flours.
Then I added more of each in a very non-precise way until I had 700 grams.
150 grams each of white rice flour and potato starch.

You now have 1000 grams of pre-mixed flour to use in basically any recipe. Just substitute 140 grams of this for one cup of regular all purpose flour.

Or, if you don’t feel like doing this, you can probably use any old GF all purpose flour. I haven’t tried that though, so I can’t vouch for the yumminess of these muffins made that way.

And now the muffins…

whole grain fig muffins
(link to GFG’s original recipe)

350 grams whole grain flour mix (see above)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
180 grams dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon sea salt
2 eggs
300 grams low fat buttermilk
100 grams grapeseed oil
2 dried figs, chopped into small pieces

Grease muffin tins and preheat the oven to 350.

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, brown sugar, and salt in a bowl.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, buttermilk, and grapeseed oil.

Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and combine gently with a spatula until mixed. Add the figs and give a quick stir.

Fill greased muffin tins about 3/4 full. Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes, until top is slightly browned and knife/toothpick/other tester comes out clean.

Now eat. I didn’t even let them cool, but that is probably what you are supposed to do.

These are best right out of the oven, so I suggest sharing them with your family, friends, or coworkers and then making a new batch. And don’t bother with the “I’m sorry these don’t taste good, they’re gluten free” spiel. You don’t need to apologize for this recipe.

Once you have made these muffins, you will not be able to wait to make them again. Next time you might use a different combination of flours, add walnuts, bananas, pears, blueberries, chocolate chips, cinnamon, whatever. I will never use another muffin recipe as long as I live, yet I have a feeling I will never make the same muffins twice. Freedom!

I have now devoured three of these muffins. They won’t last long.

This entry was posted in Baked goods and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

